Trying to remodel...

Topics relating to D-Day modeling/coding/skinning etc.

Moderator: Rab,d

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5490
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Mr. YOur no fun »

Grim, a suggestion. I have been doing landing with the LC coming in from the ocean, but as Q2 doesn't allow pivot doors on FUnc-trains the troops have to run up the ramp and jump out. If you are able in in your code to combine these two so the landing craft can come in and stop, then drop the ramp, that would be cool.

And we all want to be cool.

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Alessio »

You're still working on the weapons or they're downloadable?

User avatar
Blade
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:09 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Blade »

*waiting for 3dmax tutorials for .md3 exporting* Grim?
Si vis pacem, para bellum.

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim »

made some vids and have no idea where i put them
Image

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by JoeyBelgier »

Grim wrote:made some vids and have no idea where i put them
Youtube much? Then Sticky at the dev section or something.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

How can he put them on youtube, if he lost them...
Image

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by JoeyBelgier »

InFerNo wrote:How can he put them on youtube, if he lost them...
OH, misread that one. Shouldn't slumber on the internet if I'm just awake I guess xd
Well, that kind of sucks :/

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim »

cant find the time to make full out tuts but ill try and post some in action modelling vids
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim »

I'm gettin around to the ww2 weapons soon.
will try to remember to record when i make them.

here is a peek at 3d studio in action
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Ah false hope, the community loves it :)
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim »

totally. there is no way in hell im gonna export anything to quake 2 heh
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

InFerNo wrote:Ah false hope, the community loves it :)
http://imgur.com/0o7NQ
http://imgur.com/DZPCd
http://imgur.com/Qy4FP
http://imgur.com/GlpId
http://imgur.com/QuFS5
http://imgur.com/HveyJ
InFerNo wrote:edit:
Did the quick fix and it's 1657 tris, there are plenty of unneccesary triangles :p (1327 without the gap)
I'll remake that part sometime this week :)
It's been a long week since that post, but I did it:
http://imgur.com/dMGZ8
http://imgur.com/8gSNg
http://imgur.com/i77ue
http://imgur.com/e0aQz
http://imgur.com/baUSD
Image

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor »

Another false hope?
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

If there is no one to animate them, yes :)
I've tried it 2 weeks ago and got pretty frustrated.
Image

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor »

Well Fafner can't do it, he is coding. I wonder if Rab,d can? It's a shame they look pretty good to me.
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim »

what we need is an animator
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

hurrr hurrr

Here's what you asked for, Grim

http://i.imgur.com/KTmul.png

An hour and a half, including the skin :D
Needs a better skin :p
Image

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul »

The links to download the models? I'm thinking about trying to animate them. :)
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul »

More complicated than i thought. :lol:
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

I'll upload them tonight, do you have good hands?
I only have the weapons :lol:
Image

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Alessio »

InFerNo wrote: do you have good hands?
LoL,he doesnt even have hands,my right hand went to Canada and cutted them off.
Fu Rabid stop getting a life and start animating those weps all the day LoL! Jk

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul »

Not MY hands you fool! I'm not even from Canada!

But anyway, I have grim's hands... but those of course are kind of awful. I could use Rab'd's hands, but those can only be used in EGL, right? That has to do with the texture, right? It has more than 1 texture so only EGL knows how to use it? I'm no expert so I really don't know... What can I use...

Oh. I can't export anything until I buy milkshape 3D for 35 bucks... Why would I do that if I can't even figure out how to use the damned thing?
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor »

Image
You can use mine hands.
Image

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul »

LOL
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Paul wrote:Not MY hands you fool! I'm not even from Canada!

But anyway, I have grim's hands... but those of course are kind of awful. I could use Rab'd's hands, but those can only be used in EGL, right? That has to do with the texture, right? It has more than 1 texture so only EGL knows how to use it? I'm no expert so I really don't know... What can I use...

Oh. I can't export anything until I buy milkshape 3D for 35 bucks... Why would I do that if I can't even figure out how to use the damned thing?
I found Rab,d's hands, the reason why any of my models only work in EGL is because they should be exported to MD3 and only EGL can work with that. The current models are MD2, and they cause the model to warp and distort so no matter how nice you make them, MD2 will fuck it all up :(

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/tokare ... oning.ms3d
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/carcano2407.ms3d
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/ppsh41version3.ms3d

Made some last minute changes to the PPSh

You can use these to practice, there are some tris that need to be cut out for the final animation, but I guess computers are good enough nowadays to leave these in
Last edited by InFerNo on Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Post Reply