Trying to remodel...

Topics relating to D-Day modeling/coding/skinning etc.

Moderator: Rab,d

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5479
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:18 pm

Grim, a suggestion. I have been doing landing with the LC coming in from the ocean, but as Q2 doesn't allow pivot doors on FUnc-trains the troops have to run up the ramp and jump out. If you are able in in your code to combine these two so the landing craft can come in and stop, then drop the ramp, that would be cool.

And we all want to be cool.

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Alessio » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:26 pm

You're still working on the weapons or they're downloadable?

User avatar
Blade
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:09 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Blade » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:57 am

*waiting for 3dmax tutorials for .md3 exporting* Grim?
Si vis pacem, para bellum.

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim » Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:11 pm

made some vids and have no idea where i put them
Image

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by JoeyBelgier » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:59 am

Grim wrote:made some vids and have no idea where i put them
Youtube much? Then Sticky at the dev section or something.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:01 am

How can he put them on youtube, if he lost them...
Image

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by JoeyBelgier » Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:07 am

InFerNo wrote:How can he put them on youtube, if he lost them...
OH, misread that one. Shouldn't slumber on the internet if I'm just awake I guess xd
Well, that kind of sucks :/

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim » Sun May 01, 2011 2:10 pm

cant find the time to make full out tuts but ill try and post some in action modelling vids
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim » Mon May 02, 2011 2:49 am

I'm gettin around to the ww2 weapons soon.
will try to remember to record when i make them.

here is a peek at 3d studio in action
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Mon May 02, 2011 4:27 am

Ah false hope, the community loves it :)
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim » Mon May 02, 2011 8:52 am

totally. there is no way in hell im gonna export anything to quake 2 heh
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:25 am

InFerNo wrote:Ah false hope, the community loves it :)
http://imgur.com/0o7NQ
http://imgur.com/DZPCd
http://imgur.com/Qy4FP
http://imgur.com/GlpId
http://imgur.com/QuFS5
http://imgur.com/HveyJ
InFerNo wrote:edit:
Did the quick fix and it's 1657 tris, there are plenty of unneccesary triangles :p (1327 without the gap)
I'll remake that part sometime this week :)
It's been a long week since that post, but I did it:
http://imgur.com/dMGZ8
http://imgur.com/8gSNg
http://imgur.com/i77ue
http://imgur.com/e0aQz
http://imgur.com/baUSD
Image

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:55 pm

Another false hope?
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:29 pm

If there is no one to animate them, yes :)
I've tried it 2 weeks ago and got pretty frustrated.
Image

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor » Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:17 pm

Well Fafner can't do it, he is coding. I wonder if Rab,d can? It's a shame they look pretty good to me.
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Grim » Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:46 pm

what we need is an animator
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:10 pm

hurrr hurrr

Here's what you asked for, Grim

http://i.imgur.com/KTmul.png

An hour and a half, including the skin :D
Needs a better skin :p
Image

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul » Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:37 pm

The links to download the models? I'm thinking about trying to animate them. :)
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ
"We used poisonous gasses, and we poisoned their asses."

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul » Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:18 pm

More complicated than i thought. :lol:
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ
"We used poisonous gasses, and we poisoned their asses."

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:15 am

I'll upload them tonight, do you have good hands?
I only have the weapons :lol:
Image

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Alessio » Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:17 am

InFerNo wrote: do you have good hands?
LoL,he doesnt even have hands,my right hand went to Canada and cutted them off.
Fu Rabid stop getting a life and start animating those weps all the day LoL! Jk

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:56 pm

Not MY hands you fool! I'm not even from Canada!

But anyway, I have grim's hands... but those of course are kind of awful. I could use Rab'd's hands, but those can only be used in EGL, right? That has to do with the texture, right? It has more than 1 texture so only EGL knows how to use it? I'm no expert so I really don't know... What can I use...

Oh. I can't export anything until I buy milkshape 3D for 35 bucks... Why would I do that if I can't even figure out how to use the damned thing?
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ
"We used poisonous gasses, and we poisoned their asses."

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by TeRRor » Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:20 pm

Image
You can use mine hands.
Image

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Paul » Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:36 pm

LOL
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ
"We used poisonous gasses, and we poisoned their asses."

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo » Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:34 pm

Paul wrote:Not MY hands you fool! I'm not even from Canada!

But anyway, I have grim's hands... but those of course are kind of awful. I could use Rab'd's hands, but those can only be used in EGL, right? That has to do with the texture, right? It has more than 1 texture so only EGL knows how to use it? I'm no expert so I really don't know... What can I use...

Oh. I can't export anything until I buy milkshape 3D for 35 bucks... Why would I do that if I can't even figure out how to use the damned thing?
I found Rab,d's hands, the reason why any of my models only work in EGL is because they should be exported to MD3 and only EGL can work with that. The current models are MD2, and they cause the model to warp and distort so no matter how nice you make them, MD2 will fuck it all up :(

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/tokare ... oning.ms3d
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/carcano2407.ms3d
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24070827/ppsh41version3.ms3d

Made some last minute changes to the PPSh

You can use these to practice, there are some tris that need to be cut out for the final animation, but I guess computers are good enough nowadays to leave these in
Last edited by InFerNo on Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Post Reply