Trying to remodel...

Topics relating to D-Day modeling/coding/skinning etc.

Moderator: Rab,d

Post Reply
User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

...most of the DDay weapons.
Again, I'm not going to set a deadline.
It'll be "When it's done", I'm not even sure if I'll make it to 1 finished model or not..

Anyways, progress:
Behold, the MP44.

Image

Rab,d will do teh skinning
note: models will be MD3 to work with EGL and to add nice effects in the game (MD3 can "combine" models)

update:
Image
Last edited by InFerNo on Fri Jul 27, 2007 9:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

Looks good.
Here's what i need to have perfect skinning of a v_ model.
Before you put the weapon in the hands, and before you animate...make the hands and have them layed flat with fingers extended square to an axis, away from the weapon and seperate from each other. Like if you had your hands laying flat on your dresk in front of you, palm down, wth your fingers slightly spread. Send me that model to skin. Then move/contort your hands where you need them and do your animating. As long as you don't add or subtract faces, or rearrange vertexes....the skin i make from that model will work on the finished model. I will be able to give us sweet looking hands and fingernails and all that.
Also, since they are being made as .md3...split the model into seperate objects with materials. I can get more detail on the model with more materials...and won't have to have the skin so large, since there will be multiple skins per model. With sperate materials..i can apply seperate .shaders(.shd) to the model for some intetesting effects, also.
Animated skins are possible....with some extra special artisty needed...that may be hard. lol.

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

I got now my mauser skin.. its only default skin.

Image

Image
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

Nice.
Make the skin as a 24 or 32 bit 512x512. Then make the 8bit 256x256 8bit .pcx from that. That will give both regular dday and DDay+ what they need. :)

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Rab,d wrote:Looks good.
Here's what i need to have perfect skinning of a v_ model.
Before you put the weapon in the hands, and before you animate...make the hands and have them layed flat with fingers extended square to an axis, away from the weapon and seperate from each other. Like if you had your hands laying flat on your dresk in front of you, palm down, wth your fingers slightly spread. Send me that model to skin. Then move/contort your hands where you need them and do your animating. As long as you don't add or subtract faces, or rearrange vertexes....the skin i make from that model will work on the finished model. I will be able to give us sweet looking hands and fingernails and all that.
Also, since they are being made as .md3...split the model into seperate objects with materials. I can get more detail on the model with more materials...and won't have to have the skin so large, since there will be multiple skins per model. With sperate materials..i can apply seperate .shaders(.shd) to the model for some intetesting effects, also.
Animated skins are possible....with some extra special artisty needed...that may be hard. lol.
Is it ok too, if I gave you the hands seperate from any weapon? just the hands file?
and should it be MD3? or can I give it to you in MS3D?
Image

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

I think for the first run, at least, we should just stick with 1 texture(skin) for the model. I believe in either case i would have to have the full model or all the objects. We can always adapt the model l8r. I need the model as you would have it right before aligning the hands/arms onto the weapon and animating. So, that the model i have has the same exact # of faces and vertex order. Then my uv-mapping will apply to the model that you finish animating and all that.
It's dificult to unwrap a model if too many faces are overlapping eeach other. At least with Lithunrwap it is. Hands are very hard to do if the fingers are all wrapped around a gun and so forth. That's the issue i ran into when re-unwapping/reskinning of our existing v_models. I didn't have a frame that had the hands isolated and aligned nice enough. I tried with Q2Modeler to seperate the hands and align the fingers....what a pain-in-the-Ass that was. Way too slow. But,....with joo, my arm, i can have it ideal. ;)
I just want a frame, basically, that has the hands/arms away from the weapon with fingers extended. :)
Finish the weapon, insert or make hands, align hands for Rab,d's pleasure, give me that frame.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Will do.
I'll be starting to animate this week, so I'll give you frame_skin first thing :)

Grim, if you read this, do you have the hands with fingers stretched?
I'm stretching them myself now, but i'm having trouble with the middle finger and ring finger.

i've also seperated the arms from the hands, as i noticed they were once seperated, so now i can have the effect of the arm moving more in and out of the sleeve when necessary without 'stretching' the sleeve itself..
Image

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

Trench gun! :)

Updated :
Image

Image
Last edited by RogoS[Ums] on Mon Jul 30, 2007 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Image

Got the right hand ready to animate :)
I have to get the left hand 'jointed' and add in the weapon
I'll send that file to you rabs to animitatelate :p
Image

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

Heh :) Can you send me this hand too please :) ?
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

Lookin' good, guys.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

I will as soon as they're finished ;)
Image

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

Ok
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

What kinda polygon count are you guys ending up with? ..Faces, Vertices..
Most DDay v_ models are around 800-1400. I think for the sake of better defined models and the considering the fact most people have PIIIs and above now...maybe a 1200-2000 range would be good. I wouldn't make anything over 2000.
Another thing...we are doing the italian weapons diferent than the other teams have been done. We are using the same weapon from the v_ model for the g_ and w_ models. The other teams have a diferent models for each. This was done to minimize polygons rendered. Like the g_ model(the one gibbed laying on the ground) doesn't really need the definition..because during play...you don't really look at it that close. ;) Same with the w_ model(the one you see other's holding)...But, i think it produces a more realistic edge, if they are consistant with each other. So, like the italian team...you guys should make the g_ and w_ models from the v_ model.
Keep that in mind...When you finish the weapon...make the g_ model when you have the weapon seperated from the hands. The w_ model, btw, needs to be animated aswell.
Keep up the hard work!

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

My Shotgun have (without hands):

Vertices : 1080
Triangles : 1528

Thats good?
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

The hands are 748 triangles. They're grim's, and they are being used in the game
This means that the hands and the weapon will be near 2000...

My MP44 is 1176 triangles, which adds up to 1924

Perfect, as I'm prepping for animation :)
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Fafner »

InFerNo wrote:Image

Got the right hand ready to animate :)
I have to get the left hand 'jointed' and add in the weapon
I'll send that file to you rabs to animitatelate :p
You should be able to do one hand completely and then mirror it.

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

I edited some my model and with hands it will be have now 2010 triangles :)
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

Well, Fafner, the bones didn't copy and I already had a left hand so I just added bones to that one..

Do you know the sequences?
Image

User avatar
RogoS[Ums]
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by RogoS[Ums] »

Ok.. i got model.. i got hands.. but i have no skin :(
Rab'd how you skinning? You know any good tutorials?
Image
---------------
DDW
---------------

User avatar
Lewin
Posts: 2693
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Bialogard , Polska
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Lewin »

Got the right hand ready to ...
wank ??:P ;)

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Rab,d »

RogoS[Ums] wrote:I edited some my model and with hands it will be have now 2010 triangles :)
I don't know of any tutorials.
The jist of unwrapping/skinning is...choosing the vertices/faces and laying them out in such a way that they can accept a 2d image.
uh...
lol. Unwrapping and skinning is a hard one to explain, because you can do it many diferent ways and still come out with a nice looking model.
The only thing i can suggest is to dive into a unwrap program like Lithunwrap...and learn it by trial and error and using common sense. Then get good with Photosop to throw a skin together.
I am willing to do the unwrap and skinning for you guys, though.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Fafner »

I always look at the original model for the sequence.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by InFerNo »

... need .. more .. info.. Fafner ....

Open an MD2 in a text editor or something?
Opening any MD2 in Q2Modeler gives me the first sequence and I cant seem to look at the others :(
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to remodel...

Post by Fafner »

Hit the arrows in the bottom left of the screen or hit + and - in q2modeller.

Post Reply