Quick Server

Topics regarding running or playing on D-Day servers.
Post Reply
GenPATTON
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:08 pm

Quick Server

Post by GenPATTON »

Hey, I want to figure out how to run a server just off my gaming rig for saturday for my clanmates to join on. They can't see it.
User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Quick Server

Post by TeRRor »

Image
GenPATTON
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:08 pm

Re: Quick Server

Post by GenPATTON »

Ok, forwarded the ports, used Night Rider's guide to setting it up, and started a dedicated server, I can see it but everyone else sees an Unnamed server and can't connect
User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Quick Server

Post by Dirk »

GenPATTON wrote:Ok, forwarded the ports, used Night Rider's guide to setting it up, and started a dedicated server, I can see it but everyone else sees an Unnamed server and can't connect
Forwarding port 27910 UDP?
Image
GenPATTON
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:08 pm

Re: Quick Server

Post by GenPATTON »

did exactly as portforward.com said to for my router/modem for quake 2
User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Quick Server

Post by Dirk »

Even if you provide your IP? Have you started a map?
Image
GenPATTON
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:08 pm

Re: Quick Server

Post by GenPATTON »

yeah, I think the problem might have something to do with dynamic ip but not sure, because the Ip it's registering on is the default home network crap of 192.168.0.2 but obviously that's not my actual IP.
User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Quick Server

Post by Dirk »

What's your public IP? Try whatismyip.com ;)
Image
User avatar
Wolf
Posts: 1414
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 3:53 pm

Re: Quick Server

Post by Wolf »

If you have any sort of a router and your IP is in a "closed" network then it won't help, unless you use Hamachi or some other sort of tunneling. All my life I've had this stupid problem.
GenPATTON
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:08 pm

Re: Quick Server

Post by GenPATTON »

the motorola 6580 from time warner its a modem/router
User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Quick Server

Post by Night Rider »

What is your IP address so we can check it out too GenPATTON
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image
Post Reply