Setting up a new server

Topics regarding running or playing on D-Day servers.
Post Reply
User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:01 am

Recently purchased another dedicated server with has bundles of resources to spare so figured i'd chuck up a D-day Server.
I don't fancy zipping and ftping my client to the server as my connection is horrible.
If anyone has a zipped Q2/DDay installation I could get off them that would be great.
The links on www.ddaynormandy.com seem to be dead and quite frankly I have no idea where to get everything and what's up to date and what's not!

Also Stormwolf's setting up a server guide seem to be 404ing, if anyone could help me out over steam/im/ventrilo that'd be awesome, been a while since I set up a Q2 Server!

FYI The Server is in Germany and has 2 x AMD Opteron 2.6ghz quads and 4gb of ram, so should server quite nicely!
It also has a nice feature called PLESK which I'm hoping to use to give people control of the servers without giving them remote desktop access, if anyone's interested get in touch.

Thanks
-Grey
Image

User avatar
Shrewd
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Albacete, Spain
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Shrewd » Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:06 am

I made some small servers in my own PC for D-Day but due to my limited upload speed its not a very good solution for a "normal server"
I've had some CS:S servers that I rented too, so I know a little of the basics.
So, I can help you with whatever you want.

User avatar
Grinder
Posts: 2259
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 7:22 pm
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Grinder » Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:42 pm

Grey your a dead ringer for my friends son,you guys could be exact twins,it's weird.
Image

User avatar
Shrewd
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Albacete, Spain
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Shrewd » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:33 pm

Dude make your server fast, we need european servers!

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:11 pm

@ Shrewd,
I know how to set up servers, just need all the files and maybe a bit of assistance if i get stuck with lrcon etc. (do people still use q2admin?)

@Grinder,
I have a few lookalikes wandering the Earth, but none of them are as awesome as me :)
Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Dirk » Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:11 am

greyfox,

let me know if you want an hostname for your server (like greyfox.ddaynormandy.com).
Image

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:45 pm

Thanks Dirk!
Hoping to have something online this weekend, been far too sunny recently and i've not really been in front of my pc :p
Image

User avatar
Shrewd
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Albacete, Spain
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Shrewd » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:11 pm

Great ! I wanna play where the server is not only fulled with noobs

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:25 pm

Ok,
Well the server is up.
212.227.252.235

But no q2admin yet and what's the password to add it to the D-Day Normandy Server Browser?

feel free to test and let me know what you think.

p.s q2admin errors says can't download anticheat list, any ideas anyone?

Thanks
-Grey
Image

User avatar
Shrewd
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Albacete, Spain
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Shrewd » Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:13 pm

I've never used q2admin sorry

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by InFerNo » Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:39 am

They need to get added manually to the (new) DDay Server Browser by the developper of it.
Image

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:49 pm

Ok, it's there in the browser, seems pretty good, I ping 50-60 from the UK.
installed and set up q2admin so that should be working I guess.
Image

User avatar
Guyver
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Cardiff UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Guyver » Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:07 am

Uk server FTW!!!!.

If you need any help with anything give me a shout dude :)
ImageImage

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:04 pm

well it's up,
I'm missing a bunch of maps I think so I'll be getting those put on over the next few days/weeks.
Just need some people to come play on it now :)
Image

User avatar
Grimmey
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Rule Britannia
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Grimmey » Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:33 pm

Uk server!!! uk people!!! wow :shock:

User avatar
Grinder
Posts: 2259
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 7:22 pm
Location: Puerto Princesa, Palawan, Philippines

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Grinder » Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:19 am

greyfox wrote:well it's up,
I'm missing a bunch of maps I think so I'll be getting those put on over the next few days/weeks.
Just need some people to come play on it now :)
Get all maps in and i'd lov to play in it,checked my ping on it 190 which is great compared too n00bnet which is 230-260.
Miss having a server with massive maps.
Image

User avatar
Grimmey
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Rule Britannia
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Grimmey » Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:05 am

will the gbr maps be played on here? aint played those in years 8)

User avatar
Grimmey
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Rule Britannia
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Grimmey » Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:02 pm

went on it, nice but the votes dont work, dont think thats a problem just if there aint any admins on and the map needs to be changed

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Dirk » Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:56 pm

q2admin isn't too bad.
Image

Gargantuan
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Gargantuan » Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:00 am

Hi Dirk, I sent you PM, do you know how to install q2admin under linux?

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Dirk » Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:52 pm

Gargantuan wrote:Hi Dirk, I sent you PM, do you know how to install q2admin under linux?

Rename the gamei386.so to gamei386.real.so (or gamex86_64.so to gamex86_64.real.so). Then just unzip q2admin into the dday folder.
Image

User avatar
greyfox
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Jersey Channel Islands UK
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by greyfox » Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:27 pm

I got the following in my q2adminvote.txt at the moment.

SW:map
SW:kick

Should be working now right?
when I go in game and type vote map ddayx in console it says unknown command vote.
any ideas anyone?
Image

User avatar
Dark Assassin
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Setting up a new server

Post by Dark Assassin » Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:38 pm

Shrewd wrote:Dude make your server fast, we need european servers!
There are MAINLY European servers! There are only like two american ones!
Has anyone ever really been far as even decided to use even go want to do look more like?

Post Reply