Goddamn Fire

Discussion about the game D-Day: Normandy.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:07 am

I'm lagging on almost every map with fire animation. Is it possible to erase the fire animation files, and which do I have to delete?

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by TeRRor » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:11 am

On which maps?
Image

User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:14 am

Caen (I lag when i pass by the destroyed buildings, but I don't lag the other way)
The Haunted Crypt (don't know map name xD, but the torches in the crypt make me lag)
Battle of Kock xD (I lag near the car and the tank on fire)
Soviet7 or 8, not quite sure which is the one with fire in some buildings.
The other soviet map with some destroyed trains and tanks in the middle make me lag, too.
There's also a desert map in wich axis and brittish forces have tanks which have to be destroyed...

I can't really think of any other map, but the point is that if there is any torch or fire of any kind, I lag at some point. So that's the problem.

Oh, and the only map without fire in which I lag is Invade2. Don't know why, I lag horribly when looking to the axis side.

**EDIT** lol I remember another one, Pegasus Bridge, inside the axis house with the fire place. The rest of the map works perfectly.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3639
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Fafner » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:35 am

what engine do you use?
1RB: http://www.1rb.mav.net
Speedway: http://www.ddaydev.com/speedway
If you need help, start a thread. That way other people can learn from the information given. DON'T PM ME unless it's necessary.

User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:57 pm

what do you mean by engine?

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by TeRRor » Sun Jun 26, 2011 1:55 am

Pancho try this:

set gl_particle_min_size "2"
set gl_particle_max_size "40"
set gl_particle_size "40"
set gl_particle_att_a "0.01"
set gl_particle_att_b "0.0"
set gl_particle_att_c "0.01"
set gl_finish "0"
set gl_driver "opengl32"
set gl_texturemode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
set gl_texturealphamode "default"
set gl_texturesolidmode "default"
set gl_vertex_arrays "0"
set gl_ext_swapinterval "0"
set gl_ext_palettedtexture "0"
set gl_ext_multitexture "0"
set gl_ext_pointparameters "0"
set gl_ext_compiled_vertex_array "0"
set gl_swapinterval "0"
set gl_3dlabs_broken "1"

paste it to your Settings!
Image

User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:32 pm

ok gonna try ;)

User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:34 pm

:S a AprQ2 Console window popped when I clicked Launch!, with the message:


argc > MAX_NUM_ARGVS

what's that?

**EDIT** oh, and I can only close that window by pressing the "quit" button, when I press X it says
Cbuf_AddText: overflow

:S

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by TeRRor » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:40 am

OMG! Use r1q2.
Image

User avatar
Pancho.O
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Concepcion, Chile

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Pancho.O » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:32 am

TeRRor wrote:OMG! Use r1q2.
lol I don't understand, I'm a total n00b for this xD do I have to download something?

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3639
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Fafner » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:09 pm

1RB: http://www.1rb.mav.net
Speedway: http://www.ddaydev.com/speedway
If you need help, start a thread. That way other people can learn from the information given. DON'T PM ME unless it's necessary.

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by Rab,d » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:49 pm

EGL! ftw!

EGL owns if it likes your vid card.
Use Faf's version of it. It plays wake.
Although i wish he would have made one off that version that has bloom lighting. Add r1ch's 3.1 version that's r1q2 compliant + that great reflective water effect in Qudos's version of q2 for dday...code that all together and BAM! You know what ia m talijgmabout....
oh damn...what were we talking about?

User avatar
-+LeeHarvey+-
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:13 pm
Location: Straight Outta Compton

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by -+LeeHarvey+- » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:12 pm

This used to happen to me on my old computer. The easiest fix is to turn off dynamic lighting.

"set gl_dynamic 0" type that without the quotes.
Image

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2905
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Goddamn Fire

Post by GypsyLlama » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:37 pm

I hate EGL so much, sorry rabs it's a horrible half-assed engine.
Image

Post Reply