Code Progress

Discussion about the game D-Day: Normandy.
User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Alessio »

What about the smg? you made it look like COOLNET's lmg,but this is even worse,I think that a gun which fires about 30 bullets in a short amount of time should get some blowback,shouldnt it? Now it's easy using that weapon,and nobody chooses lmg anymore,I think smg should be fixed.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

Well it's definitely weaker than the Coolnet LMG, but I will lower it from 25 to 24 damage, which will mean it takes 3 chest shots instead of 2 to kill, stomach & leg shots will still be 3 and 4 hits to kill.

As for the airborne, it used to spawn in the middle of the maps in the old days and it was terrible, so I'm not doing that.

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Alessio »

What about the recoil? just a bit of it would be OK to make it look realistic,and maybe quite less easier,I also think it's accuracy is too much.

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Rab,d »

Alessio wrote:What about the recoil? just a bit of it would be OK to make it look realistic,and maybe quite less easier,I also think it's accuracy is too much.
are you using the made for EGL version?

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by GypsyLlama »

Any chance the Enfield wobble in the gbr dll could be fixed? I find whenever (and after) I move while in true sight the rifle wobbles incessantly back and forth (sometimes even up and down) without stopping (even after movement has ceased). It's a pain to have to stay in one place, disengage and then re-engage to have the rifle stay still enough to get a good bead on someone. Leaves lots of time to get shot inbetween.
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

What exe are you using? I don't remember that ever happening for me.

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by GypsyLlama »

The default, R1Q2 I guess.
Image

User avatar
Alessio
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Alessio »

GypsyLlama wrote:Any chance the Enfield wobble in the gbr dll could be fixed? I find whenever (and after) I move while in true sight the rifle wobbles incessantly back and forth (sometimes even up and down) without stopping (even after movement has ceased). It's a pain to have to stay in one place, disengage and then re-engage to have the rifle stay still enough to get a good bead on someone. Leaves lots of time to get shot inbetween.
Happens to me too,that's annoying.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

GypsyLlama wrote:Any chance the Enfield wobble in the gbr dll could be fixed? I find whenever (and after) I move while in true sight the rifle wobbles incessantly back and forth (sometimes even up and down) without stopping (even after movement has ceased). It's a pain to have to stay in one place, disengage and then re-engage to have the rifle stay still enough to get a good bead on someone. Leaves lots of time to get shot inbetween.
can you post or PM your config.cfg?

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Dirk »

Alessio wrote:What about the recoil? just a bit of it would be OK to make it look realistic,and maybe quite less easier,I also think it's accuracy is too much.
I don't recall 9mm to recoil that much.
Image

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by GypsyLlama »

// generated by quake, do not modify
bind TAB "scoreboard"
bind ENTER "invuse"
bind ESCAPE "togglemenu"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind + "sizeup"
bind , "binds"
bind - "sizedown"
bind / "id"
bind 0 "objectives"
bind 1 "use melee"
bind 2 "use weapon2"
bind 3 "use weapon1"
bind 4 "use grenades"
bind 5 "use special"
bind 6 "use pickup"
bind 7 "use pickup"
bind 8 "use pickup"
bind 9 "use pickup"
bind = "sizeup"
bind [ "invprev"
bind ] "invnext"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind a "+moveleft"
bind b "dday_menu_main"
bind c "stance"
bind d "+moveright"
bind e "weapnext"
bind g "use grenades"
bind h "shout grenade1; wave 4"
bind i "l1"
bind j "shout help1; wave 3"
bind k "r1"
bind l "x1"
bind m "dday_menu_class"
bind n "dday_menu_team"
bind o "w1"
bind p "k1"
bind q "autopickup"
bind r "reload"
bind s "+back"
bind t "messagemode"
bind u "q1"
bind v "arty"
bind w "+forward"
bind x "drop gun"
bind y "messagemode2"
bind z "drop ammo"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind BACKSPACE "drop weapon"
bind UPARROW "+forward"
bind DOWNARROW "+back"
bind LEFTARROW "+moveleft"
bind RIGHTARROW "+moveright"
bind ALT "+strafe"
bind CTRL "+attack"
bind F1 "v1"
bind F2 "a1"
bind F3 "b2"
bind F4 "c1"
bind F5 "z1"
bind F6 "e1"
bind F7 "f2"
bind F8 "say_team Medic!!; shout medic; wave 3; medic"
bind F9 "g1"
bind F10 "i1"
bind F11 "h1"
bind F12 "j1"
bind KP_INS "+moveup"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "use weapon"
bind PAUSE "pause"
set cl_maxfps "60"
set hostname "Unnamed R1Q2 Server"
set allow_download "1"
set allow_download_players "0"
set allow_download_models "1"
set allow_download_sounds "1"
set allow_download_maps "1"
set allow_download_pics "1"
set vid_ref "r1gl"
set gl_mode "6"
set rate "10000"
set intensity "2"
set gl_modulate "1.5"
set gl_ext_palettedtexture "0"
set gl_shadows "1"
set adr0 "99.190.136.76:27910"
set adr1 "24.63.162.196:27910"
set adr2 "titan.servequake.com:27910"
set adr3 "208.43.15.228:27910"
set adr4 "217.8.180.90:27920"
set adr5 "ddaybelgier.no-ip.org:27910"
set adr6 ""
set adr7 ""
set adr8 ""
set gl_flush "0"
set vid_xpos "226"
set vid_ypos "32"
set vid_gamma "0.5"
set gl_particle_min_size "2"
set gl_particle_max_size "40"
set gl_particle_size "40"
set gl_particle_att_a "0.01"
set gl_particle_att_b "0.0"
set gl_particle_att_c "0.01"
set gl_finish "0"
set gl_driver "opengl32"
set gl_texturealphamode "default"
set gl_texturesolidmode "default"
set gl_vertex_arrays "1"
set gl_ext_multitexture "1"
set gl_swapinterval "1"
set sw_stipplealpha "0"
set gl_ext_pointparameters "1"
set s_volume "0.5"
set s_mixahead "0.2"
set s_primary "0"
set cl_gun "1"
set fov "90"
set gender "none"
set gender_auto "1"
set cl_vwep "1"
set g_select_empty "0"
set skin "usa/class_infantry"
set name "<R>GypsyLlama"
set gl_texturemode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
set freelook "1"
set lookstrafe "0"
set lookspring "0"
set m_pitch "0.022"
set hand "0"
set cl_run "1"
set crosshair "0"
set sensitivity "5"
set s_khz "44"
set s_loadas8bit "0"
set win_noalttab "0"
set vid_fullscreen "1"
set viewsize "100"
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4374
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by InFerNo »

GypsyLlama wrote:The default, R1Q2 I guess.
I have the same with EGL and I used to have it in Quake2maX.
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

I don't get it at all so I don't know. I know what you mean since that used to happen with the Mauser in 4.0, but that was fixed. And the mauser & enfield are exactly the same for me now. Are you sure you don't have any weird paks or anything installed? Try removing any of those and delete your \dday\models\weapons\gbr\v_303\tris.md2 and download it from Dirk's and see if that helps.

User avatar
DuckHunter
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:26 pm
Location: USS Bataan, Norfolk, VA

Re: Code Progress

Post by DuckHunter »

The enfield wobble used to happen every once in a while, but not any more or I havent noticed it.

Boons
Developer
Developer
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:36 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Boons »

Never happens to me.. I am running egl
Image
Image

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by GypsyLlama »

I have basically the same dday folder that the ddaydev.com download provides you with plus a few textures and maps, I assure you this is a problem and almost makes the rifle unusable.

Also less detrimental to gameplay but strange none-the-less, I downloaded the q2demo which I then updated to 3.2(I think?) so I could use Quark. Since then randomly the q2 grunt model will be standing around in random places in maps. I'll take some screenshots to show you what I mean. I seem to remember before installing the q2demo that there would sometimes be the white diamond (ie missing model) in places for no apparent reason, perhaps the two are connected?
Image

Boons
Developer
Developer
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:36 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Boons »

I see the white diamond alot thats for sure.
Image
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

Not doubting that it's a problem, just trying to narrow down what causes it. I can't reproduce it so there is no way I can fix it on my own. Did you try deleting that model I said? And are you sure you don't have any extra paks?

White diamonds are usually missing weapon models.

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by GypsyLlama »

That file is locked inside a .pak somewhere, not loose in a folder. The issue itself I believe is tied to Dirks server specifically, I can't reproduce it by myself but sure enough it happens a lot on Dirks. I'll attempt to make a demo next time it happens.

Edit: Took me just a few seconds to get it going on dirk's, takes nothing just a couple of steps in true sight and I'm Micheal J. Fox.

There's the demo faf.
Attachments
wierd.rar
(45.92 KiB) Downloaded 379 times
Image

Boons
Developer
Developer
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:36 pm

Re: Code Progress

Post by Boons »

Would a demo reproduce it? I didnt think demos were a complete reproduction? As it loads through q2 like any map would.
Image
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

I see it in the demo. It could be a ping thing. Low ping = no problem, higher ping = shakes. I'll try adding more frames to the aim animation, since that was the problem with the mauser before.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Code Progress

Post by Fafner »

The enfield fix should be on the server now, everyone will have to download the new model. Let me know if it works.

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Code Progress

Post by Grim »

pssst. check q2 client side prediction.
bobcycle anyone?
(fixed wobble was first thing i ever did to dday src)
Image

User avatar
TeRRor
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:52 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Code Progress

Post by TeRRor »

White diamond appears when someone disconnects.
Image

Grim
Developer
Developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:04 am

Re: Code Progress

Post by Grim »

ok maybe i was a bit vague and cryptic

in p_view there is Clientendserverframe where it creates a ridiculous bob equation and uses it in SV_CalcGunOffset where the nonsense is applied.

you can nip it in the bud here
and if it persists you can search the source for ps.gunangles and see any place it might be getting messed up in.

I recommend a hard bob linked to serverside model animation.


void SV_CalcGunOffset (edict_t *ent)
{
int i;
float delta;

// gun angles from bobbing
ent->client->ps.gunangles[ROLL] = xyspeed * bobfracsin * 0.002f;
ent->client->ps.gunangles[YAW] = xyspeed * bobfracsin * 0.01f;
if (bobcycle & 1)
{
ent->client->ps.gunangles[ROLL] = -ent->client->ps.gunangles[ROLL];
ent->client->ps.gunangles[YAW] = -ent->client->ps.gunangles[YAW];
}

ent->client->ps.gunangles[PITCH] = xyspeed * bobfracsin * 0.005f;

// gun angles from delta movement

//grim this is where u get sway delay when u move ur view around
for (i=0 ; i<3 ; i++)
{
delta = ent->client->oldviewangles - ent->client->ps.viewangles;
if (delta > 180)
delta -= 360;
if (delta < -180)
delta += 360;
if (delta > 45)
delta = 45;
if (delta < -45)
delta = -45;
if (i == YAW)
ent->client->ps.gunangles[ROLL] += 0.1f*delta;
ent->client->ps.gunangles += 0.2f * delta;
}

//Grim: if you add this here it may remove the issue
Vectorclear(ent->client->ps.gunangles);

ent->client->ps.gunangles[YAW]= (INSERT BOB EQUATION HERE)
Image

Post Reply